This Day In History: #1 – July 11, 2014


** I enjoy history. So, mostly for the entertainment of myself, I have decided to start a new series on my blog. I will attempt to write a “This Day In History” post each day. I will choose one event from that date to write about. We’ll see how long I can keep it up. Being the massive sports fan that I am, the first post of this series was a no-brainer.

He started as a pitcher, though!

He started as a pitcher, though!

100 years ago today, the greatest baseball player who ever lived made his major league debut. On July 11, 1914, Babe Ruth was a 19-year old pitcher. Playing for the Boston Red Sox, he started on the mound against the Cleveland Indians at Boston’s Fenway Park.

“The Babe” pitched 7 innings, giving up 8 hits and 3 runs (2 earned). He struck out 1 and walked nobody. Ironically enough, Ruth went 0-2 at the plate with a strikeout.

The Cleveland lineup that day included Hall of Famer Nap Lajoie. Also of note in the Indians lineup that day: Shoeless Joe Jackson.

The Boston lineup included Hall of Famers Tris Speaker and, of course, Babe Ruth.

Red Sox third baseman, Larry Gardner, went 3-4 with an RBI and Boston won 4-3.

Babe Ruth was the winning pitcher. He would go on to become the greatest hitter the game has ever seen.

Leave a comment